Tauranga AV Salon

Tauranga AV Salon

This is a year we wanted to celebrate.

It is the 10th year that we have organised this Salon and we decided to invite Newell Grenfell Hon PSNZ FPSNZ FNPSNZ to be our guest judge.

Newell is both a leading PSNZ photographer and a great supporter of this Salon and other AV activities.

Because he lives in the South Island we could not afford to invite him to judge earlier Salons. This time we were prepared, and ready to go. Then came COVID-19.

We had already advertised the Salon, so the decision was made to continue, with remote judging if required ลาวสามัคคี วีไอพี.

When the government announced the removal of all restrictions except for border controls on 8 June we started to plan. Newell was able to get suitable flights from Christchurch to Tauranga (at full fare of course!) and everyone else was willing to meet.

The judging weekend in mid-June was the first time we had been able to get together for three months.

This year there were 109 entries from 50 different authors living in eight countries.

We enjoyed all the audiovisuals, including some that were challenging and some that were controversial, resulting in interesting discussions.

We reminisced about the way audio-visuals had changed in our Salon’s ten years. The overall winner was Malcolm Imhoff from the United Kingdom.

His AV A Place of Pilgrimage also won the Documentary category. Theme was won by Guido Clarysse from Belgium with Drawing with Light.

Elizabeth Carruthers FPSNZ AFIAP from New Zealand won Music, Poetry and Song with One Day in Winter

and World of Nature was won by Sally Hinton from Australia with Crested Terns. The New Zealand Novice category was won by Leo Kwon from

Auckland with Cross that Bridge. It was really pleasing to see that 23 New Zealanders entered a total of 40 programmes.

The following people were awarded Merits for their AVs: Sue Riach APSNZ ARPS AFIAP,

Shona Kebble APSNZ , Trish McAuslan APSNZ EFIAP FAPS AV-AAPS, Sheryl Williams APSNZ and Bob McCree FPSNZ.

Acceptances were gained by Bob McCree (2) Leo Kwon (2) , Jo Curtis LPSNZ, Matt Leamy LPSNZ, Gail Stent FPSNZ,

 Kevin Chong, Paul Byrne FPSNZ ARPS AFIAP, Diana Andrews LPSNZ, Elizabeth Carruthers,

Alistair McAuslan APSNZ AVAAPS, John Smart LPSNZ, Koshy Yohannan and Jenny Dowling LPSNZ.

Congratulations to everyone who was successful.

For more information: ลาวสามัคคี วีไอพี